Non EU/EEA school student resident in EU/EEA Member State

If you are a non-EU or EEA school student who is resident in an EU or EEA Member State and wish to travel to Ireland as part of a group school excursion you may be exempt from the requirement to be in possession of a visa in order to travel to Ireland.

This exemption arises from the implementation of the European Council Decision (94/795/JHA) on a joint action adopted by the Council on the basis of Article K.3(2)(b) of the Treaty on European Union concerning travel facilities for school pupils from Non-EU Member Countries resident in a Member State. Please note that an upper age limit does not apply, provided the pupil is part of a school group.

In order to avail of this exemption an application form must be completed by the head of your school and presented to the Irish Immigration authorities upon arrival.

Click here for the application form.