Information Notice for non-EEA family members of British citizens who are residing in Ireland

This communication is for the information of non-EU/EEA nationals who are residing in the State as family members of a British citizen.

The United Kingdom will leave the European Union at midnight (CET) on 31 January 2020 on the basis of the Withdrawal Agreement. This Agreement includes a transition period which is due to last until at least 31 December 2020.

During the transition period EU rules and regulations will continue to apply to the UK and its citizens who will still benefit from the Freedom of Movement Directive, i.e. the right of British EU citizens to live and work in the EU.

This means that, until the transition period ends, non-EEA family members of a British EU citizen who are residing in this State are still subject to the provisions of the Free Movement Directive and the exercise of EU Treaty rights and entitlements.

In accordance with existing requirements, please update EU Treaty Rights Division if there is any change in your circumstances including a change in your relationship status with your relevant British citizen family member, your civil status and/or a change of address. You can contact EU Treaty Rights Division by email at

Details of further arrangements for non-EEA family members of British citizens will be announced closer to the end of the transition period.


Published: 31 January 2020